Inspire Pattaya
December 2018 PAGS Tournament from Greenwood
Donal McGuigan - B Flight Winner
24th December 2018 Posted by Vadim Thaivisa No comments
Filed in: LifestylePattaya

Gerry’s Gross 79, Best of the Day

The day‘s conditions were perfect for the final PAGS tournament of 2018, with clear skies, a light steady breeze, with a course in overall good condition.  Today’s field of 107 keen players which included only the 7 Ladies, were all set fot a great finale.

As with most months, there is generally a standout performer or 2 on the day.  This month, although not a crazy low gross, Gerry Sweetnam’s (12) 79 was good enough to win the Gross and secure top spot in the A Flight, with 41 points.  The winners of the B and C Flights were responsible for the best stableford scores of the day, outstanding 44s.

The Ladies  winner, Amphai Noksa Vos (13) sined for a solid 37 points, to go with her Long Drive on B8 and her Near Pin on A2.

A Flight minor prizes went to Robert Watkins (10) with 37 points, to go with his Long Drive on B8 and approach on A3, while Tommy Wickman’s (11) 35 points was good enough for 3rd spot.

B flight, for handicap 14 – 22, was won clearly by Donal McGuigan (22) wait a day’s best of 44 points, with Tony Bless (18) edging Phillippe Vos (18) in the minor prize battle 20/18, after both signed for 38 points.

In the C Flight for handicaps 23>, Stephen Watkins (27) with the equal day’s best of 44 points was clearly the best.  James Sulavuori (29) with his 40 points picked up the silver spot, with Arne Wirdo (27) getting the bronze position on 38 points to go with his Near Pin on B5.  Arne’s 20 points on the Back 9 saw off both Pierre and Gabriel on the countback to secure his placing.

Honourable mentions for multiple technical wins on the day should go out to John Aylott, Brendan Cope and Jeff Wylie.

Dave and his team did a fantastic job of keeping all the golfers and their guests satisfied in the food department, while the Hemingway’s staff kept the fluid refreshments supplied.

Although the Order of Merit winner, Mikael Andersson was already decided, there was still plenty of jostling for the lower positions.  Donal McGuigan’s 44 points secured him top OoM points on the day, moving him up to secure 2nd.  The 3rd and 4th spots went to Craig Banks and Tood Fox respectively, while Ken price did enough to score 5th spot.

We will all look forward to another successful Series and tournament with next month’s event at Pattavia on 30 January.  Contact Shane on 0859459689, through Facebook, or  for your preferred time slot.

Amphai Noksa Vos - Ladies Winner Donal McGuigan - B Flight Winner Gerry Sweetnam - A Flight & Low Gross Winner Mikael Andersson - Order of Merit Winner Stephen Watkins - C Flight Winner

ThaiVisa News

Popular posts – last 7 days